Forgive me if I stumble…there is just a lot of mess on the ground…

Somewhere in the clutter I have lost my way. Told myself that I could go on pretending that not seeing a future is part of the fun. And missing you would be like cutting my arm on purpose and having no choice but to self care the wound. That it was okay to be in a relationship where my partner didn’t have to be present, so long as they are calling to check in and let me know that they are on their way; yet somehow always late or even worse, never showing up. I never wanted you to feel responsible for the way things turned out, but I can’t help but see the fact that the failure shines brighter than the future, and the conversations are just white noise to the truth…my truth. I feel selfish because I wanted to see how this thing turned out. “What if we have the best fucking relationship that anyone could imagine”. What if? The question is so powerful that it could rearrange my life plans, silence my unhappiness, and keep one of my size 8 1/2 feet planted uncomfortably in the door just so that I can win the prize at the end of this very difficult game that we seem to be playing…It has become apparent that the only way to fix this travesty is by accepting it’s broken, and realizing that we have lost some of the parts to put it together. 

