New year resolution

Never again in life

Will I confuse this disrespect with love

This codependency with affection

Or this dysfunction as a future.

It took me over 3 years to really take heed 

Of just how much I’ve endured and excused 

Telling myself that it was normal

When everything and everybody seemed to scream differently.

I’ve never felt so devalued in the name of love 

Except for that time when my dad loved me, but if I “was only”…etc then he would be capable of loving me more

She was a mistake that never disguised itself

I just chose to see beauty in someone selfish and inconsiderate 

And now, I am truly done. 

Leave a Reply

