“Remember That One Time…” Conversations With An Old Friend

Friend.
It has been ages since I’ve seen you…

a stranger as distant as the moon.

Your eyes say that your memory of

me is isolated too, but still we sit and

talk as if life hasn’t disrupted our

energy, as if choice hasn’t created

ill feelings, laughter comes from our

mouth unsure…you want to rekindle things.

You ask me why I haven’t

been in contact with you…well, I’ve

thought of you often, but often the

thoughts are of what has been said

and done, trust broken like a record,

20 years later and I’m still trying to remember…

you before we failed at being better

partners in crime, before the time I

watched you cry and felt nothing inside…

heartless it seems, but betrayal tends to do

those things, marriage to trust is difficult

when your mistress is bitterness, and boy

does she keep you satisfied when trust

keeps you cold at night. I needed you before

you needed me, I came to you when these

questions of sexuality lingered inside me…

you exposed my secrets like The Enquirer, yet

my loyalty is questioned like Edward Snowden.
you seem serious in your demeanor, and I laugh

at your gall, I make broken promises to call you

more. No, not anymore. A sundered stranger I shall
remain, the one friend that left you tied to my name,

and it’s okay.

Thanks for the drink.

 
Leave a Reply

