30 DAY “SHARE YOUR WORLD WITH YOUR FOLLOWERS” Challenge

Hey!

One of my great blog followers commented that there was a 15 day blog challenge in effect, one that would allow my blog readers to get to know me more, as well as help me with the commitment on blogging on an everyday basis. I like BOTH of those incentives, so I have decided to participate and I hope you do too.

Day ONE: Answering 10 questions about myself, and posting my own favorite blog post.

Basics:
1-Nickname- Kymmie.
2-Birthplace- San Diego, CA
3-Background- My mother is Black American from San Diego, CA, my father was Afro-Arab from Kalabsha, Aswan, Egypt. They met while my dad was here for School, and dated for one year.
4-Siblings- I have two brothers on my mom’s side, and 6 siblings (probably more -_-) from my dad’s side. He was a busy guy. LOL.
5-Blog purpose- It is a personal blog, I don’t use it for any professional purposes. I simply write my poetry, articles, and stories passionately, unapologetically, and obviously without much editing. 🙂
6-Do you drink?- Yes… I’ve heard a rumor that most writers do…LOL. (See- http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/jul/20/why-do-writers-drink-alcohol )
7-Relationship status- I am in a relationship, and happy.
8-Passions?- Educating myself on Black American revolutionary sub-culture. Of course that ties moreso into the past as opposed to whats going on today. I find it very interesting and inspiring to see how strong and powerful Black revolutionists like Stokely Carmichael, Huey P. Newton, Angela Davis, and Assata Shakur were in previous days, and how much their beliefs and activism can influence and strengthen the downfalls of our youth today (if they would just pay attention…). I am also passionate about writing. Currently trying to finish up a novel, hoping to take it to the SDSU writers conference in January.
9-Do you believe in karma?- Yes, I do. I don’t usually like to go into these types of discussions because people have their own beliefs..and I hate arguing with them about it. See, I understand and love the theory behind Karma. It is more than “Whatever you do, will come back on you” or “Karmas a bitch”. I believe that we ourselves are responsible for our own happiness and misery. We create our own Heaven. We create our own Hell. We are the architects of our own fate.
10-Favorite Book?- Hmmmmmm, I’d have to go between Cheaters by Eric Jerome Dickey, and The Autobiography of Malcolm X. Each one for different reasons of course. Cheaters was the first book that I had read by Dickey, and he proved to be a very passionate, thorough, detailed, and intelligent writer, all while penning fictional stories about sex and other things we may consider seedy. My kind of writer. :). TAOMX was one of the first books I’d read of its kind. It taught me a lesson that is difficult to do through a book, I felt proud..to be me. “Why am I as I am? To understand that of any person, his whole life, from birth must be reviewed. All of our experiences fuse into our personality. Everything that ever happened to us is an ingredient.”
He was a strong and intelligent guy, his entire book was a proclamation of that.

My favorite blog post? Would have to be this poem:
https://theartinthepen.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/life-this-shits-dope/

Why? Because life IS dope..and every once in a while, we may need a reminder. 😉

Peace!

Leave a Reply

