Peace In Pieces

-Peace in pieces-

Perpetuating thoughts of peace in
the form of two bodies resembling
the likes of you and Me.
A piece of this relationship is contaminated
with resistive actions
and reactions causing us both to
rebel against the peace we DID share
in our once conjoined enamory.
And even with me offering you every piece of me
A piece of this, a piece of that
A piece of heart, and soul
And love, I guess.
You come back with hands open
asking for more.
Offering disharmony, the antonym of peace when
We are fighting and fighting and finally
You threw that wine glass against the wall
as if the wall were me.
That red liquid running down
Looking as if i’m bleeding on
our carpet, our foundation
-Covered with pieces of broken glass
symbolizing our happiness.
I have to get back to that state of peace,
the peace of mind that ensures im not
walking away with cuts and bruises
battered and wounded with invisible marks
placed by razor sharp pieces of words
and deceitful perpetration,
Battle wounds that would leave me with
nothing to offer but peace in pieces
to a next love wholly available to me.

4 thoughts on “Peace In Pieces

  1. Your poem trembles with emotion. Nicely done. Keep at it, you’re doing great work! I will definitely return for more!
    I have a new writing blog that I created after self-publishing my first novel for the Kindle. Please check it out and share your writing experiences with me!
    http://gdalexander.wordpress.com/
    -G.D.

Leave a Reply

