Tags

, , ,

This is not a fancy shmancy article so forgive my errors, but I question…how it is possible to celebrate ALL that is Black History in one month out of the year? With so many fascinating stories, people, and movements? and it’s not just the slavery, struggle, or fight. It is the people who lived through the stories and have made Black History the very essence of what we should be proud of.   There is nothing more special than spending time getting to know those who have raised their fists in your futures honor. The artists, activists, speakers, and all of the above’s, they should be celebrated.  I have decided to take a few hours out of my day and spend time writing on a different Black individual and their strides. I’ve decided to start off with a Black feminist who wrote a strong story and led a very powerful path for writers and revolutionary women alike.

*ALICE WALKER*

A name that rings with all intellectuals and followers of history, Black and White. She penned the story of “The Color Purple”, giving a passionate real life view and understanding of the struggles in Black slavery, love, relationships, and abuse to the modern-day individuals who may not have been able to study or learn it from their family members. Before she wrote “The Color Purple”, a Pulitzer prize-winning novel, she began penning poetry, writing her first book of poetry while a senior at Sarah Lawrence. Women like Alice are a goldmine for people like me, those who appreciate the birth and life of real life artists, and have been able to write their name in the sky of history for the world to keep forever. I hope that I can pass a message to promote self-awareness and pride in our future. The stories of the people being pointed out in my 29 stories of Black Stride will surely get anyone interested in doing something powerful to get on their feet.

*ALICE WALKER INFORMATION*

AKA Alice Malsenior Walker
Born: FEB 9th, 1944
Birthplace: Eatonton, Georgia
Gender: Female
Religion: Buddhist
Race or Ethnicity: Black
Sexual orientation: Bi-Sexual
Occupation:Author
Nationality: United States
Most Notable Work: The Color Purple

a BB gun accident blinded and scarred her right eye. The experience of this disfigurement profoundly influenced Walker’s life, leading her into a self-imposed isolation that was open only to her thirst for reading and her love of poetry.(Read more: http://www.answers.com/topic/alice-walker#ixzz2AAFqvVb9)

Alice is the author of several literary pieces, with a lot of them being poetry and short stories. Although I have not been able to read them all, I have come across one particular poem that stood out to me titled “Our Martyr”:

Our Martyr

When the people
have won a victory
whether small
or large
do you ever wonder
at that moment
where the martyrs
might be?
They who sacrificed
themselves
to bring to life
something unknown
though nonetheless more precious
than their blood.
I like to think of them
hovering over us
wherever we have gathered
to weep and to rejoice;
smiling and laughing,
actually slapping each other’s palms
in glee.
Their blood has dried
and become rose petals.
What you feel brushing your cheek
is not only your tears
but these.
Martyrs never regret
what they have done
having done it.
Amazing too
they never frown.
It is all so mysterious
the way they remain
above us
beside us
within us;
how they beam
a human sunrise
and are so proud.

The thing that stood out the most was her poetry scrap-book from when she was 15 years old, “Poems of a Childhood Poetess”. It reminded me of myself, because I wrote my first poetry book when I was 9 years old!

Alice has so many accomplishments, which include activism for womens rights, anti-war,  countless literary pieces, and SO much more. She is a hero to aspiring writers like myself and I hope that one day I will be able to touch people the way she has done me.

-Keep uplifting Alice! ❤

Kymmie

