My mama said

You know, My mama never told me there would be days like this.

In fact, she used to tell me “Baby, you are beautiful.  Your skin is the color

of kings and queens alike, your father from the land of colors, with pyramids and

camels frequent like stars in the sky”

Nah, she wasn’t that poetic. But she told me my beauty ran skin deep.

Contradictory to the outrage to my color shown on these streets

That black bitch with the attitude, oh no! not me. Not she. Maybe?

Maybe they have me confused with the black they see in the mirror

covered by sheer white sheets in order to cover their black soul.

See, my black soul is nothing like theirs. Nothing short of astounding.

Striking, extraordinary

Not YOUR ordinary Black.  Bitch with the attitude.

My mama, see..she never told me there would be people like you.

She told me “Dont be mad at the world baby, they don’t know no better. Their mind

is filled with wind and air that never changes with the seasons”

Nah, she wasn’t that poetic. But,  she did say that they are small-minded, downplaying

my beauty to comparison of brown paper bags and crayons.

Don’t they know that this beauty here is chocolate candy?

but wont melt in your mouth or in your hands.

I’m not your Black bitch with the attitude.

“Damn baby, you sexy for a dark-skinned girl”

Sorry boo, that pseudo compliment wasn’t meant for me

Cause my mama said Baby, you are beautiful.  Your skin is the color

of kings and queens alike, your father from the land of colors, with pyramids and

camels frequent like stars in the sky”

Nah, she wasn’t that poetic.

3 thoughts on “My mama said

  1. I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

Leave a Reply

